Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Hurray For The Riff Raff

The Navigator



Released: 10th Mar 2017


lp + poster + program + download

Released: 10th Mar 2017


out of stock

This album rides Patti Smith’s high horse while straddling Chrissie Hynde’s thin line between love & hate & beth gibbons's intense mystery - ambitiously interwoven cinematic, hypnotic storytelling for fans of gillian welch, lucinda williams or devendra banhart.

bronx native Alynda Segarra, has been spreading a new kind of roots-conscious folk music across the country from her adopted hometown of New Orleans but for album number 5, she wanted to find her way back home for her Puerto Rican roots. Segarra worked with producer Paul Butler, whose work with British soul singer Michael Kiwanuka she deeply admired, to capture the cinematic, old but new quality she wanted. The result is an interconnected set of introspective songs, grounded in Segarra’s eclectic rustic root style, yet adorned by elements of son montuno, plena & a kind of Mink De Ville retro-doowop rock. "she also explores the sass & drama of Motown-style pop, the steadfast grooves of gospel, the streetwise smirk of glam rock" - npr, album of the month - uncut.


The Navigator


  1. Entrance
  2. Living in the City
  3. Hungry Ghost
  4. Life to Save
  5. Nothing’s Gonna Change That Girl
  6. The Navigator
  7. Halfway There
  8. Rican Beach
  9. Fourteen Floors
  10. Settle
  11. Pa’lante
  12. Finale