Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Valerie June

The Order of Time

Concord/Caroline International


Released: 10th Mar 2017


out of stock

lp + download

Released: 10th Mar 2017


out of stock

oh yeah! from the reflective & sombre lament of the opener, to the fabulous desert blues triptych & the matthew e white 'spacebomb'-esque sumptuous arrangements, this is an unhurried, spectacularly colourful & highly distinctive follow-up to our no5 album of 2013.

it's an enthralling & illuminating leap forward from the Tennessee-bred, Brooklyn based songwriter who weaves electric blues, African rhythms, cosmic atmospherics & delicate soul into an inventive whole. The collection’s finely sketched character studies brim with richness & detail while June’s ethereal, wide-open soundscapes provide a sterling backdrop for her remarkable Southern gospel & nasal / honey voice. Norah Jones adds her distinctive vocals to 3 tracks & 'Shake Down' sparkles with background vocal contributions from her father, Emerson Hockett & brothers, Patrick & Jason Hockett.

The Order of Time


  1. Long Lonely Road
  2. Love You Once Made
  3. Shakedown
  4. If And
  5. Man Done Wrong
  6. The Front Door
  7. Astral Plane
  8. Just In Time
  9. With You
  10. Slip Slide On By
  11. Two Hearts
  12. Got Soul

bonus 7"

  1. astral plane
  2. shakedown