Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

the unthanks

Diversions Vol. 4: TheSongs And Poems Of Molly Drake

rabble rouser


Released: 26th May 2017


lp + download

Released: 26th May 2017


a beautiful record dripping with nostalgia, tenderness & sincerity.

A wistful mother makes some simple home recordings in her family sitting room during the 1950s. Little could she have known that decades later, a daughter would become a successful actress, & her son one of the most poetic & influential songwriters ever. Less still, that more than sixty years later, the dust would be blown off her song collection, firstly in 2013 with the release of her own recordings, & now by The Unthanks, who believe her work is extraordinary enough to rank alongside & independently of her brilliant son, Nick Drake. The Unthanks have teamed up with Molly Drake's daughter, Gabrielle Drake, who recorded her mother's poems for The Unthanks to set to music. Gabrielle is truly given centre stage for parts of the record, with The Unthanks setting her spoken word to music, rather than turning the poems into song. 

Diversions Vol. 4: TheSongs And Poems Of Molly Drake


  1. What Can A Song Do To You?
  2. Dream Your Dreams
  3. Martha
  4. How Wild The Wind Blows
  5. Little Weaver Bird
  6. Bird In The Blue
  7. The Road To The Stars
  8. Set Me Free
  9. Woods In May
  10. I Remember
  11. Never Pine For The Old Love
  12. The Shell
  13. Soft Shelled Crabs
  14. Do You Ever Remember?
  15. The First Day