Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Shabazz Palaces

Quazarz: Born On A Gangster Star


lp + download

Released: 14th Jul 2017



Released: 14th Jul 2017


indies only 'loser edition' silver lp + download

Released: 14th Jul 2017


this surreal cosmic journey encompasses a vast range of sonic territory, ranging from woozy ethereal hip hop to outright quoting kraftwerk, & is utterly compelling throughout.

they recorded this entire album over the course of two weeks with Blood in Seattle. New gear & new equipment disintegrated comfort zones into dust & a new path appeared in the rubble. this record flirts with a pop sensibility, but through the prism of Shabazz Palaces’s fire & fury. For the Palaceer, that sense is all about how the groove is moving, & the supernatural telepathy that occurs amongst his cohort. Appearing here, in body or in spirit, are Julian Casablancas, Thundercat, Darrius Willrich, Gamble & Huff, Loud Eyes Lou, Thaddillac, Ahmir, Jon Kirby, Sunny Levine, & Blood. “a thrilling excursion, possessing an otherworldly ambience & substance you’ll spend months decoding” 4/5 – mojo.


Quazarz: Born On A Gangster Star


  1. Since C.A.Y.A.
  2. When Cats Claw
  3. Shine a Light (feat. Thaddillac)
  4. Dèesse Du Sang
  5. Eel Dreams (feat. Loud Eyes Lou)
  6. Parallax (feat. The Palaceer Lazaro)
  7. Fine Ass Hairdresser
  8. The Neurochem Mixalogue
  9. That's How City Life Goes
  10. Moon Whip Quäz (feat. Darrius)
  11. Federalist Papers