Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Dread In A Babylon (2017 reissue)

get on down

LP (pre-order)

Expected Release: 30th Jun 2017


U-Roy was a true reggae pioneer, dubbed The Originator for good reason.

Bursting onto the Jamaican scene in the earliest 1970s, he pioneered the vocal approach called “toasting,” which in addition to branching out Jamaican music into a new era, was also heavily influential on an American genre in its infancy: rapping. U-Roy’s style and charisma are always on display, and – as with all of his classic records – the groove rules all. Presented on black vinyl with a poster of the glorious, ganja-drenched cover art, it’s the perfect chance to revisit one of the more underrated voices in Jamaican musical history. Previously issued on CD and LP. Available digitally, but physical formats are out of print. Last offical vinyl issue was around 1990

Dread In A Babylon (2017 reissue)


  1. Runaway Girl
  2. Chalice In The Palace
  3. I Can't Love Another
  4. Dread Locks Dread
  5. The Great Psalms B
  6. Natty Don't Fear
  7. African Message
  8. Silver Bird
  9. Listen To The Teacher
  10. Trench Town Rock