Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Juanita Stein




Released: 28th Jul 2017


out of stock

lp + download

Released: 28th Jul 2017


her style of americana is grounded in the dust of the American west, yet the floating ethereality of her voice adds a layer of nostalgic commentary to the genre, creating a fresh & captivating new statement.

An evocative & beautiful record, her honeyed voice weaves stories of heartbreak & optimism, from the unmistakably Western-influenced ‘Dark Horse’, to the moody love song, ‘Cry’. "This record is an ode to the dark heart of America. Dusty trails, a whimsical 50s suburbia & the haze of the 1960s. The music of Roy Orbison, Dusty Springfield, Lee & Nancy & Patsy Cline all informed my musical sensibilities”. “stein’s silky voice has long deserved arrangements as sumptuous as ‘it’s all wrong’ or the string-swept ‘florence’, & on ‘I’ll cry’, she even sounds momentarily & uncannily like that other modern exponent of meta-explorations of america, lana del rey” – uncut.



  1. Florence
  2. Dark Horse
  3. Black Winds
  4. I'll Cry
  5. Stargazer
  6. Shimmering
  7. Someone Else's Dime
  8. It's All Wrong
  9. Not Paradise
  10. Cold Comfort
  11. America