Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


If All I Was Was Black



Released: 17th Nov 2017


180g lp + download

Released: 17th Nov 2017


written by wilco’s jeff tweedy, these songs carry socio-political weight without waxing obnoxiously polemical, whilst staples’ huskier set of vocals possess a beautiful balance of grace and power.

“Mavis has done it all and worked with just about everybody from Bob Dylan to Prince to Jeff Tweedy… She still is singing for justice and equality and influencing a new generation of musicians and fans.” - PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA. “A voice that has lost none of its gutsy power since she unleashed it, some six decades ago.” - NEW YORK TIMES. “where mavis’ voice was once a rangey, optimistic mezzo-soprano, her register has dropped dramatically to an emotionally rich, bassy contralto [adding] a growling intensity to lyrics that are dignified rather than angry” 8/10 – uncut.

If All I Was Was Black


  1. Little Bit
  2. If All I Was Was Black
  3. Who Told You That
  4. Ain't No Doubt About It
  5. Peaceful Dream
  6. No Time For Crying
  7. Build A Bridge
  8. We Go High
  9. Try Harder
  10. All Over Again