Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


The Search (Deluxe Reissue)

transmit sound


Released: 6th Apr 2018


opaque seafoam green lp + download

Released: 6th Apr 2018


Originally released in 2007, and out of print for the past several years, this deluxe reissue of ‘The Search’ features bonus content, in addition to the heart-rending original album.

Led by the songwriting and vocals of Jay Farrar, Son Volt was one of the most instrumental and influential bands in launching the alt-country movement of the 1990’s. ‘The Search’ takes Jay Farrar's signature juxtapositions of the arcane and the modern to provocative extremes, contrasting the blue highways of a disappearing cultural landscape with a perilous world in which the centre no longer holds - a world of information overload, of clueless leaders carrying out sinister agendas. By turns melancholy and exhilarating, the album further cements Farrar's status as one of rock's most eloquent chroniclers of contemporary existence.

The Search (Deluxe Reissue)


  1. Slow Hearse
  2. The Picture
  3. Action
  4. Underground Dream
  5. Circadian Rhythm
  6. Beacon Soul
  7. the Search
  8. Adrenaline and Heresy
  9. Satellite
  10. Automatic Society
  11. Methamphetamine
  12. L Train
  13. Highways and Cigarettes
  14. Phosphate Skin