Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

arthur russell

The World of Arthur Russell 

Soul Jazz Records


Released: 29th Jun 2018


Quite possibly the best Arthur Russell collection going, this wide-ranging compilation takes in material from across the oeuvre of a musical one-off – from proto-disco, avant-cello, nick drake-tenderness and beyond.

his music effortlessly crossed musical boundaries making it timeless. His dance music credentials are faultless and this collection features mixes from Larry Levan, Françcois Kevorkian and Walter Gibbons. Similarly, his songwriting, musicality and performance skills are equally cherished. This album brings together some of Russell’s best-loved and most accessible works including his wide-ranging music, both solo and in groups, including Dinosaur L (the essential ‘Go Bang’), Loose Joints (the equally classic ‘Is It All Over My Face’) as well as rarities such as the 7” only ‘Pop Your Funk’, Indian Ocean’s ‘Schoolbell / Treehouse’, Lola’s ‘Wax The Van’ and more. “Arthur Russell fused the avant-garde with disco and sounds like nothing else on earth” - The Guardian, “Simply one of the best compilations of this or any year” - Record Collector

The World of Arthur Russell 


  1. Dinosaur L - Go Bang (Francois Kevorkian Mix)
  2. Lola - Wax The Van
  3. Loose Joints - Is It All
  4. Over My Face (Larry Levan Mix)
  5. Arthur Russell - Keeping Up
  6. Arthur Russell - In The light Of The Miracle
  7. Arthur Russell - A Little Lost
  8. Loose Joints - Pop Your Funk
  9. Arthur Russell - Let's Go Swimming (Walter Gibbons Mix)
  10. Dinosaur L - In The Cornbelt (Larry Levan Mix)
  11. Arthur Russell - Treehouse
  12. Indian Ocean - Schoolbell/Treehouse (Walter Gibbons Mix)