Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Okemah and the Melody of Riot

transmit sound


Released: 28th Sep 2018


Anchored by Farrar's songwriting and propelled by a renewed rock and roll aesthetic catalyzed by a cast of new players, Son Volt's Okemah and the Melody of Riot was produced by Farrar himself.

Originally released in 2005 and never before on vinyl, this deluxe reissue is a double LP pressed on opaque red vinyl and includes bonus content - unreleased studio recordings and live versions of album tracks. Led by the songwriting and vocals of Jay Farrar, Son Volt was one of the most instrumental and influential bands in launching the alt-country movement of the 1990’s. A movement that was the precursor to what is now widely referred to as Americana.

Okemah and the Melody of Riot


  1. Bandages & Scars
  2. Afterglow 61
  3. Jet Pilot
  4. Atmosphere
  5. Ipecac
  6. Who
  7. Endless War
  8. Medication
  9. 6 String Belief
  10. Gramophone
  11. Chaos Streams
  12. World Waits For You
  13. World Waits For You (Reprise)
  14. Exurbia (Non-album track)
  15. Joe Citizen Blues (Studio)
  16. Anacostia (Non-album track)
  17. Afterglow 61 (Live)
  18. Gramophone (Live)
  19. Ipecac (Live)
  20. Bandages & Scars (Live)
  21. Atmosphere (Live)
  22. Medication (Live)