Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

lee scratch perry

The Black Album



Released: 12th Oct 2018



Released: 12th Oct 2018


out of stock

At 83 years of age, perry drops a masterful album of space, light and darkness, blending the vintage and the obscure - with dub versions included.

It’s a brilliant analogue concoction of ultra-rare effects, sonic wizardry and deeeeep heavy roots rhythms. Picking up where ‘’Back on the Controls’’ left off, perry continues his partnership with producer daniel boyle to devastating effect. the Rolling Lion All Stars session band is in wild form, and the edits warm and rich. The legend lives on. “(The Black Album) shows off the real-deal roots of roots reggae from the octogenarian mad professor, in brilliantly, hypnotically moving fashion… give thanks and praises” - reggaeville

The Black Album


  1. Mr Brown In Town
  2. Mr Brown Dub
  3. Trendsetter
  4. Trendsettting Dub B
  5. Your Shadow Is Black
  6. Your Shadow Is Dub
  7. Dead Meat
  8. Dead Meat Dub
  9. Dub At Abbey Road
  10. Abbey Road Version
  11. Bumpy Road Of Life
  12. Bumpy Dub
  13. Captain Perry D
  14. Captain Dub
  15. Killing Dancehall Softly
  16. Killing Version
  17. Solid State Communication
  18. Solid State Dub