Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

This Mortal Coil

Filigree & Shadow (deluxe reissue)



Released: 26th Oct 2018



Released: 26th Oct 2018


this deluxe edition of the 4ad collective’s ’86 sophomore double album returns to our stereos with lushly reimagined artwork.

conceived and produced by one-time 4AD founder Ivo Watts-Russell, across 8 years he, and a rotating cast of musicians, created original works, musical links and reinterpretations of impeccably curated songs; introducing a new audience to the talents of a previous generation. Released two years after their debut album, ‘Filigree & Shadow’ (1986) was no less ornate than its predecessor; a double album with each of its four sides a self-contained unit. New faces joined the cast for this record, including a variety of singers Ivo handpicked like Alison Limerick, Jeanette, Dominic Appleton (Breathless), sisters Deirdre and Louise Rutkowski (Sunset Gun), and Richenel. An intense listen, The Quietus called it “tortured yet oddly euphoric… (music which) could easily rip flimsy souls apart”.

Filigree & Shadow (deluxe reissue)


  1. Velvet Belly
  2. The Jeweller
  3. Ivy And Neet
  4. Meniscus
  5. Tears
  6. Tarantula
  7. My Father
  8. Come Here My Love
  9. At First, And Then
  10. Strength Of Strings
  11. Morning Glory
  12. Inch-Blue
  13. I Want To Live
  14. Mama K (1)
  15. Filigree & Shadow
  16. Fire Brothers
  17. Thaïs (1)
  18. I Must Have Been Blind
  19. A Heart Of Glass
  20. Alone
  21. Mama K (2)
  22. The Horizon Bleeds And Sucks Its Thumb
  23. Drugs
  24. Red Rain
  25. Thaïs (2)