Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

will oldham (bonnie 'prince' billy')

Songs of Love and Horror


very limited cd w/ tip-on sleeve

Released: 19th Oct 2018


very limited lp

Released: 19th Oct 2018



Released: 26th Oct 2018


out of stock

It’s a subtle distinction, but the split between Will Oldham and his songwriting aliases palace & bonny is important here – Oldham is the writer, not the musician, and these intimate versions take on a new world of their own here.

‘Songs of Love and Horror’ is a rare entry in this ouvre: a Will Oldham album, with the writer taking a turn as singer. As befits the nature of this project, the songs are sung and played by Will alone, in a setting enjoyed by fans of his music - that of one voice and one guitar, the better to savor the spare changes and starkly-cut lyrics, operating in quiet tension and ultimate collaboration. Will brings to the songs all that he has learned from his stage-crafting fellows over the years, singing new versions that quiver like fresh young things in the air of today.

Songs of Love and Horror


  1. I See a Darkness
  2. Ohio River Boat Song
  3. So Far and Here We Are
  4. The Way
  5. Wai
  6. The Glory Goes
  7. Only Someone Running
  8. Big Friday
  9. Most People
  10. Strange Affair
  11. New Partner
  12. Party With Marty (Abstract Blues)