Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

josephine foster

Fairy Faithful Harmony

fire records


Released: 16th Nov 2018


Limited indies clear 2lp

Released: 16th Nov 2018


Faith and Fate, Destiny and Devotion, Dark Nights and Dazed Illuminations.

Josephine raises a stained-glass lamp and shepherds us spelunking the depths of spirit in this four-part double album. Following the fame of her voice are choruses of winged entities (and a space shuttle) that ascend and descend a maze of spirituals: ritual prayers, blues laments, vestal hymns and jubilant benedictions. The edges of the natural world are revolving backdrops from which our narrator perches upon symbolic precipice or saunters desolate snow-blanched forest, exploring eternal themes of mortality and morality, beneath the moon and in occasional dialogue with a mysterious lord of love, an ambiguous mystical figure. Accompanying herself on guitar, piano, organ, harp & autoharp, this cycle of 18 new songs hearken back to various facets of Foster's anachronic oeuvre (the esoteric balladry of This Coming Gladness, native rhythms of Blood Rushing, somnambulist waltzes of I'm a Dreamer, the Shaker primitivism of Hazel Eyes, I Will Lead you). Celestial humor and devastating innocence are delivered with contributions from Victor Herrero (lead guitars), Gyða Valtýsdóttir (cello), Chris Scruggs (pedal steel), Jon Estes (bass), as well as cameos by members of The Cherry Blossoms and others. Recorded, engineered and mixed by Andrija Tokic at his Nashville Bomb Shelter Studio, mastered by John Baldwin, and produced by Josephine herself.

Fairy Faithful Harmony


  1. Soothsayer Song
  2. A Little Song
  3. The Virgin of the Snow
  4. Pearl in Oyster
  5. Benevolent Spring
  6. Force Divine
  7. All Pales Next to You
  8. Lord of Love
  9. Eternity
  10. Indian Burn
  11. Peak of Paradise
  12. Adieu Color Adieu
  13. Pining Away
  14. Challenger
  15. I Was Glad
  16. Shepherd Moon of Starry Height
  17. Little Lamb
  18. Faithful Fairy Harmony