Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Mort Garson

Mother Earth’s Plantasia (2019 reissue)

sacred bones


Released: 21st Jun 2019


lp + download

Released: 21st Jun 2019


out of stock

Originally, Released in 1976, this cult album is full of bucolic, charming, stoner-friendly, decidedly unscientific tunes enacted on a then-new-fangled device called the Moog.

Plants date back from the dawn of time, but apparently they loved the Moog, never mind that the synthesizer had been on the market for just a few years. Most of all, the plants loved the ditties made by composer Mort Garson. Few characters in early electronic music can be both fearless pioneers & cheesy trend-chasers, but Garson embraced both extremes, & has been unheralded as a result. Novel as it might seem, ‘Plantasia’ is simply full of good tunes. Millions of kids bought The Legend of Zelda for their Nintendo Entertainment System back in 1986 & one distinct 8-bit tune bears more than a passing resemblance to album highlight “Concerto for Philodendron & Pothos.”

Mother Earth’s Plantasia (2019 reissue)

  1. Plantasia (3:23)
  2. Symphony for a Spider Plant (2:41)
  3. Baby’s Tears Blues (3:03)
  4. Ode to an African Violet (4:04)
  5. Concerto For Philodendron And Pothos (3:09)
  6. Rhapsody In Green (3:28)
  7. Swingin' Spathiphyllums (2:59)
  8. You Don't Have To Walk A Begonia (2:31)
  9. A Mellow Mood For Maidenhair (2:17)
  10. Music To Soothe The Savage Snake Plant (3:23)