Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Sonic Youth

The Eternal (2019 reissue)



Released: 3rd May 2019


Long out of stock, now re-pressed and re-issued.

Produced by John Agnello and the band, ‘The Eternal’ not only marks Sonic Youth’s return to the independent label sphere (titles on their own SYR label excepted) after a long association with Geffen but, more importantly, it ranks as one of their more inspired efforts in a 28 year career. Recorded through November and December of 2008 at the band’s Echo Canyon West studio in Hoboken, NJ, ‘The Eternal’ features many firsts for a Sonic Youth album, including a number of shared vocals between Kim, Thurston and Lee and the studio debut of former Pavement / Dustdevils bassist Mark Ibold, a member of Sonic Youth’s touring band for the past few years.

The Eternal (2019 reissue)


  1. Sacred Trickster
  2. Anti-Orgasm
  3. Leaky Lifeboat (for Gregory Corso)
  4. Antenna
  5. What We Know
  6. Calming The Snake
  7. Poison Arrow
  8. Malibu Gas Station
  9. Thunderclap For Bobby
  10. Pyn
  11. No Way
  12. Walkin Blue
  13. Massage The History