Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

John Carpenter & Alan Howarth

they live (original motion picture soundtrack)


180g lp + in gatefold sunglasses sleeve

Released: 6th Dec 2019


‘THEY LIVE’ will rock your world without the need for a Brazilian plastic surgeon to put you back together again.

Like most of Carpenter's films, ‘THEY LIVE’ has an urban-western feel to it, which is emphasized by the infectious score. Carpenter and Howarth's main theme conjures up images of a lone cowboy entering town, with the main melody augmented with the sounds of harmonica and saxophone. There's a carefree attitude which reflects Rowdy Roddy Piper's character, but the score takes on a more sinister tone when he realizes he doesn't know anything about what's really going on. Carpenter's signature synth tones create an uncomfortable atmosphere, but the main bassline is always fighting against them, never giving up. Electric guitar is used fleetingly, but brilliantly, and the whole score embodies the kind of rebelling against authority Carpenter is famous for.

they live (original motion picture soundtrack)


  1. Prologue Broadcast
  2. Coming to L.A.
  3. A Message
  4. The Siege Of Justiceville
  5. Return To Church
  6. All Out Of Bubble Gum
  7. Back To The Street
  8. Kidnapped
  9. Transient Hotel
  10. Underground
  11. Wake Up