Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Straight Outta Compton

EMI Catalogue


Released: 28th Jan 2008


lp + download

Released: 2nd Dec 2013


It's impossible to overstate the enduring impact of 1988's 'Straight Outta Compton'; as polarizing as its outlook may be, it remains an essential landmark, one of hip-hop's all-time greatest.

there's little social criticism or reflection on the gangsta lifestyle; most of the record is about raising hell -- harassing women, driving drunk, shooting it out with cops & partygoers. All of that directionless rebellion & rage produces some of the most frightening, visceral moments in all of rap. Given the album's sheer force, the production is surprisingly spare, even a little low-budget - mostly DJ scratches & a drum machine, plus a few sampled horn blasts & bits of funk guitar. it still sounds refreshingly uncalculated because of its irreverent, gonzo sense of humour, still unfortunately rare in hardcore rap.

Straight Outta Compton


  1. Straight Outta Compton (2002 Digital Remaster)
  2. Fuck Tha Police
  3. Gangsta Gangsta (2002 Digital Remaster)
  4. If It Ain't Ruff (2002 Digital Remaster)
  5. Parental Discretion Iz Advised (2002 Digital Remaster)
  6. 8 Ball (2000 Digital Remaster) (Remix)
  7. Something Like That (Explicit) (2002 Digital Remaster)
  8. Express Yourself (Explicit) (Digital Remaster 00)
  9. Compton's N The House (Remix) (2002 Digital Remaster)
  10. I Ain't Tha 1 (Explicit) (2002 Digital Remaster)
  11. Dopeman (Remix) (Explicit) (2002 Digital Remaster)
  12. Quiet On Tha Set (Explicit) (2002 Digital Remaster)
  13. Something 2 Dance 2 (Explicit) (Digital Remaster 00)
  14. Fuck Tha Police
  15. Gangsta Gangsta
  16. Dopeman
  17. If It Ain't Ruff
  18. Compton's N The House (Live)