Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Brigid Mae Power

Head Above The Water

fire records

limited white lp

Released: 5th Jun 2020



Released: 5th Jun 2020


For her third album, Power has rubbed the shoulders of country and traditional folk together to create a delectable juxtaposition of threads.

‘head above the water’ is a coming of age opus featuring a ground-breaking amalgamation of traditional folk and country - an engaging blend of strings, bouzouki, piano and Brigid Mae Power’s distinctive vocal make this an achingly beautiful body of work. BMP paints expansive songs that are effortless, hypnotic and folk-oriented like judee sill, bill callahan and sharon van etten, but with this release she has delved into a world that is more ethereal, more personal and even more alluring. “Power takes the intimate details of her life – the small moments that change everything – and gives them a certain grandeur.” 4/5 - Irish Times

Head Above The Water


  1. On A City Night
  2. Wearing Red That Eve
  3. Wedding Of A Friend
  4. Not Yours To Own
  5. I Was Named After You
  6. We Weren't Sure
  7. You Have A Quiet Power
  8. I Had To Keep My Circle Small
  9. The Blacksmith
  10. Head Above The Water