Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Good Souls Better Angels

highway 20


Released: 8th May 2020


limited indies-only natural opaque lp

Released: 8th May 2020


williams is in fiery form on this sizzling album baptised in outrage at social injustices, which sees a raw, punky edge jut through this whopping array of blues-rock stompers and intimate ballads.

The new songs cut straight to the core with frank and honest commentary on domestic abuse (“Wakin’ Up”), the constant barrage of news (“Bad News Blues”) the dangerous, quick to judge and convict aspects of social media (“Shadows & Doubts) and the haunting reality of the “Man Without A Soul”. “few singers can channel bitterness, anger and pain as well as lucinda williams; she moves with ease from a fierce snarl to a sensual drawl, and from a naked show of vulnerability to a rocker's raunch” 4/5 – the arts desk.

Good Souls Better Angels


  1. You Can't Rule Me
  2. Bad News Blues
  3. Man Without A Soul
  4. Big Black Train
  5. Wakin Up
  6. Pray The Devil Back To Hell
  7. Shadows And Doubts
  8. When the Way Gets Dark
  9. Bone Of Contantion
  10. Down Past the Bottom
  11. Big Rotator
  12. Good Souls
  13. Bad News Blues (lp bonus)
  14. Pray The Devil Back (lp bonus)
  15. You Can't Rule Me (lp bonus)
  16. Man Without A Soul (lp bonus)
  17. Wakin' Up (lp bonus)