Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Damien Jurado

What's New, Tomboy?



Released: 1st May 2020


lp + download

Released: 1st May 2020


he may have plugged back into the amp since 2019's 'in the shape of a storm' but this is just as tender and soulful as we've come to expect from the tirelessly prolific folk songwriter.

this is an album that seeks respite in bare minimums and barren revelations: sometimes frail, sometimes affirming, sometimes wry, and usually a threadbare mix of all those sentiments. It could be considered Damien Jurado’s finest collection of music to date, with songs exuding the inviting warmth of a lone porch light gleaming amidst the disorienting darkness. Though more stripped and grounded in their execution, songs like “Sandra”, “Ochoa” and “Alice Hyatt” are generous and candid in their vocabulary, eschewing the sometimes abstruse imagery of Jurado’s previous releases. Ffo: bill callahan; bonnie prince billy; ryley walker; hiss golden messenger; steve gunn; iron & wine.

What's New, Tomboy?


  1. Birds Tricked Into The Trees
  2. Ochoa
  3. Alice Hyatt
  4. Arthur Aware
  5. Francine
  6. Fool Maria
  7. When You Were Few
  8. Sandra
  9. The End Of The Road
  10. Frankie