Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

The Divine Comedy

Bang Goes The Knighthood (2020 reissue)

Divine Comedy Records

2cd (pre-order)

Expected Release: 21st Aug 2020


lp (pre-order)

Expected Release: 21st Aug 2020


"Venus, Cupid, Folly and Time - Thirty Years of The Divine Comedy"  In 1990 Neil Hannon started recording and releasing under the name The Divine Comedy.

Thirty years and twelve great albums later, Hannon is rightly adjudged one of the finest singer songwriters of his generation. To celebrate, Divine Comedy Records are remastering and reissuing nine of the band's classic albums. The reissues will be released by Neil Hannon’s own label Divine Comedy Records on August 21st, 2020 Bang Goes The Knighthood was first released in 2010. Written in the aftermath of the 2008 financial crisis, Bang.. took an acerbic look into the lives of the rich and powerful, and their impact on the rest of us “down in the street below.” It was described in the Sunday Times as "a collection worthy of Randy Newman at his best" while Pitchfork said, "Neil Hannon continues to quietly and effectively operate his own one-man niche, thanks to impeccable arrangements and tightrope-walking songwriting." Includes the singles At The Indie Disco and I Like, and live favourites Assume The Perpendicular and The Complete Banker. The album has been remastered from the original tapes at the legendary Abbey Road Studios by mastering engineer Frank Arkwright (Blur, The Smiths.) Overseeing the audio throughout the campaign is engineer/mixer/producer Guy Massey, whose work on the Beatles Stereo Remasters won him a Grammy Award. The CD release consists of 2 discs: the original remastered album, with a second CD of B-sides, demos and alternate versions lovingly curated by Neil Hannon, much of which has never been heard before. The CD comes with a booklet of photos, credits and extensive liner notes written by Neil covering the context and inspiration behind the album and its songs. The LP release consists of the original remastered album, cut at Abbey Road, packaged with a download code for the album and bonus tracks. The LP is heavyweight black vinyl in a gatefold sleeve accompanied with photos, credits and Neil's liner notes.

Bang Goes The Knighthood (2020 reissue)


  1. Down In The Street Below
  2. The Complete Banker
  3. Neapolitan Girl
  4. Bang Goes The Knighthood
  5. At The Indie Disco
  6. Have You Ever Been In Love
  7. Assume The Perpendicular
  8. The Lost Art Of Conversation
  9. Island Life
  10. When A Man Cries
  11. Can You Stand Upon One Leg
  12. I Like

Bonus cd

  1. Assume The Perpendicular (alternate version)
  2. On The Barge
  3. At The Indie Disco (demo 1)
  4. girl Overboard
  5. Bang Goes The Knighthood (alternate version)
  6. Beside The Railway Tracks
  7. Have You Ever Been In Love (alternate version)
  8. Oh Christina
  9. Ya Sumeera
  10. Down In The Street Below (demo)
  11. Island Life (demo)
  12. The Bitter End
  13. When A Man Cries (demo)
  14. The Loneliest Man In The World
  15. The Circular Firing Squad
  16. At The Indie Disco (demo 2)
  17. What's Wrong With You
  18. Wide Open Spaces
  19. I Like (alternate version)