Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

The Divine Comedy

Liberation (2020 reissue)

Divine Comedy Records

2cd (pre-order)

Expected Release: 21st Aug 2020


lp (pre-order)

Expected Release: 21st Aug 2020


"Venus, Cupid, Folly and Time - Thirty Years of The Divine Comedy"  In 1990 Neil Hannon started recording and releasing under the name The Divine Comedy.

Thirty years and twelve great albums later, Hannon is rightly adjudged one of the finest singer songwriters of his generation. To celebrate, Divine Comedy Records are remastering and reissuing nine of the band's classic albums. The reissues will be released by Neil’s own label Divine Comedy Records on August 21st, 2020 Liberation was the band’s first full album. Released in 1993 it achieved few sales but plenty of critical acclaim. The NME described it as “an array of seductive yarns.. glorious, gleeful tunesmanship."  Dave Cavanagh, writing in Select said " of the bountiful, overflowing joys of the year. Any year." Melody Maker described it as "An album that could make any listener want to stumble up to him and proclaim ‘Neil, you’re a genius’". Tracks such as Your Daddy's Car, Europop, and Lucy are fan favourites still performed live by the band to this day while Pop Singers Fear Of The Pollen Count was released as a single from the 1999 "Best Of.“ The album has been remastered from the original tapes at the legendary Abbey Road Studios by mastering engineer Frank Arkwright (Blur, The Smiths.) Overseeing the audio throughout the campaign is engineer/mixer/producer Guy Massey, whose work on the Beatles Stereo Remasters won him a Grammy Award. The CD release consists of 2 discs: the original remastered album, with a second CD of b-sides, demos and alternate versions lovingly curated by Neil Hannon, much of which has never been heard before. The CD comes with a booklet of photos, credits and extensive liner notes written by Neil covering the context and inspiration behind the album and its songs. The LP release consists of the original remastered album, cut at Abbey Road, packaged with a download code for the album and bonus tracks. The LP is heavyweight black vinyl in a gatefold sleeve accompanied with photos, credits and Neil's liner notes.

Liberation (2020 reissue)


  1. Festive Road
  2. Death Of A Supernaturalist
  3. Bernice Bobs Her Hair
  4. I Was Born Yesterday
  5. Your Daddy's Car
  6. Europop
  7. Timewatching
  8. The Pop Singer's Fear Of The Pollen Count
  9. Queen Of The South
  10. Victoria Falls
  11. Three Sisters
  12. Europe By Train
  13. Lucy

Bonus cd

  1. Untitled Melody
  2. Your Daddy's Car (demo)
  3. Queen Of The South (demo)
  4. Europop (live)
  5. Little Darlin'
  6. Bernice Bobs Her Hair (early idea)
  7. Bontempi Beats 1
  8. The Pop Singers Fear Of The Pollen Count (demo)
  9. Europe By Train (live)
  10. I Can Think (But I Can't Feel)
  11. Lucy (early version)
  12. Festive Road (demo)
  13. Three Sisters (live)
  14. I Was Born Yesterday (alternate version)
  15. Bontempi Beats 2
  16. Christmas With The Hannons
  17. Victoria Falls (demo)
  18. Timewatching (demo)
  19. Bontempi Beats 3
  20. Suzanne (live)