Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

inventions (eluvium / explosions in the sky)

Continuous Portrait

temporary residence ltd


Released: 7th Aug 2020


very limited (500 only) indies only "pearlescent bronze" lp + download

Released: 7th Aug 2020



Released: 7th Aug 2020


a surprisingly exuberant and peaceful record from two masters of epic emotional intensity; this is a deep and layered experiment that will elevate the foulest of moods.

On their first album together since Maze of Woods (2015), Matthew Robert Cooper (Eluvium) and Mark T Smith (Explosions in the Sky) further their creative curiosities as Inventions. Beginning with a trace of uncontrollable laughter that shifts into the driving atmosphere and unfolding elation of opening track “Hint and Omens,” 'Continuous Portrait' is an album of strange hypnosis, punctuated by songs that venture quite far from the respective oeuvres of Cooper and Smith. A sense of exploration, pleasure, and ceremonial melancholia pervades throughout the entire album from front to back.

Continuous Portrait


  1. Hints and Omens (5:38)
  2. Calico (3:57)
  3. Continuous Portrait (2:54)
  4. Outlook for the Future (3:31)
  5. Close to People (3:16)
  6. Spirit Refinement Exploder (5:15)
  7. The Warmer the Welcome (3:57)
  8. A Time in My Life (4:11)
  9. Saw You in a Movie (4:07)