Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Rufus Wainwright

Unfollow The Rules



Released: 10th Jul 2020



Released: 10th Jul 2020


perfect road songs for driving through pretty countryside; wainwright's 9th album of original material is a diverse and vibrant collection of pop-folk ballads.

this finds Rufus Wainwright at the peak of his powers, entering artistic maturity with passion, honesty and a new-found fearlessness, while remaining as mischievous as ever. Recorded in the same legendary Los Angeles studios as his landmark debut, his ninth album is both a bookend to Act 1 of an extraordinary career and a distillation of 21 years of experience at pop’s most flamboyant coal face. Inspired by middle age, married life, fatherhood, friends, loss, London and Laurel Canyon, Unfollow The Rules captures Rufus at a crossroads. “Big, baroque, occasionally operatic with lots of multilayered Wainwright vocals, Unfollow is a postmodern album replete with stylistic allusion” 4/5 – the arts desk.

Seb says: “It’s been eight years since the last Rufus wainwright album and he hasn’t lost his touch. This album makes me think of his earlier work and it’s just stunning.”

Unfollow The Rules


  1. Trouble In Paradise
  2. Damsel In Distress
  3. Unfollow The Rules
  4. You Ain’t Big
  5. Romantical Man
  6. Peaceful Afternoon
  7. Only The People That Love
  8. This Ones For The Ladies (THAT LUNGE!)
  9. My Little You
  10. Early Morning Madness
  11. Hatred
  12. Alone Time