Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


morrison hotel (50th anniversary deluxe edition)


standard LP

Released: 16th Nov 2018


deluxe 2cd + 180g lp

Released: 9th Oct 2020


The Doors returned to their roots and were reborn a rock ’n’ roll band on Morrison Hotel, the group’s fifth studio album.

Completed in only a few weeks and released in February 1970, the hard-charging album took its name from the Skid Row hotel in downtown Los Angeles that’s featured in the iconic cover photo taken by Henry Diltz. Morrison Hotel: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition includes the original album newly remastered by The Doors’ longtime engineer and mixer Bruce Botnick, plus a bonus disc of unreleased studio outtakes, and the original album on 180-gram virgin vinyl. The music will also be available from digital and streaming services the same day. For this new collection, the original album has been expanded with more than an hour of unreleased recordings taken from the sessions for Morrison Hotel. These 19 outtakes transport listeners into the studio with Jim Morrison, John Densmore, Robby Krieger, and Ray Manzarek for an unprecedented perspective on the making of the album. Botnick says: “There are many takes, different arrangements, false starts, and insightful studio conversations between the band – who were in the studio – and producer Paul Rothchild – who was in the control room. It’s like being a fly on the wall.” Several of these unheard recordings spotlight how Queen Of The Highway and Roadhouse Blues evolved across multiple sessions. It’s especially interesting to hear how the band played with different bass players on Roadhouse Blues. Early versions include Harvey Brooks, who played on the band’s previous album, The Soft Parade. Later takes feature guitar legend Lonnie Mack on bass along with The Lovin’ Spoonful’s John Sebastian on harmonica who, due to contractual restrictions at the time, had to be credited as G. Puglese. Among the treasure trove of unreleased outtakes are also rough versions of Morrison Hotel tracks Peace Frog and Blue Sunday, as well as The Doors rarity I Will Never Be Untrue. The collection also captures some incredible session outtakes of the band jamming on cover versions of the Motown classic Money (That’s What I Want) and B.B. King’s Rock Me.

morrison hotel (50th anniversary deluxe edition)


cd track list
disc one

  1. Roadhouse Blues
  2. waiting For The Sun
  3. You Make Me Real
  4. Peace Frog
  5. Blue Sunday
  6. Ship Of Fools
  7. Land Ho!
  8. The Spy
  9. Queen Of The Highway
  10. Indian Summer
  11. Maggie M’Gill

Disc Two: Mysterious Union

  1. Queen Of The Highway (Take 1, She Was A Princess) *
  2. Queen Of The Highway (Various Takes) *
  3. Queen Of The Highway (Take 44, He Was A Monster) *
  4. Queen Of The Highway (Take 12, No One Could Save Her) *
  5. Queen Of The Highway (Take 14, Save The Blind Tiger) *
  6. Queen Of The Highway (Take 1, American Boy – American Girl) *
  7. Queen Of The Highway (Takes 5, 6 & 9, Dancing Through The Midnight Whirlpool) *
  8. Queen Of The Highway (Take 14, Start It All Over) *
  9. I Will Never Be Untrue *
  10. Queen Of The Highway (Take Unknown) *
  11. Roadhouse Blues (Take 14, Keep Your Eyes On The Road) *
  12. Money (That’s What I Want) *
  13. Rock Me Baby *
  14. Roadhouse Blues (Takes 6 & 7, Your Hands Upon The Wheel) *
  15. Roadhouse Blues (Take 8, We’re Goin’ To The Roadhouse) *
  16. Roadhouse Blues (Takes 1 & 2, We’re Gonna Have A Real Good Time) *
  17. Roadhouse Blues (Takes 5, 6 & 14, Let It Roll Baby Roll) *
  18. Peace Frog/Blue Sunday (Take 4) *
  19. Peace Frog (Take 12) *


  1. Hard Rock Cafe
  2. Roadhouse Blues
  3. Waiting For The Sun
  4. You Make Me Real
  5. Peace Frog
  6. Blue Sunday
  7. Ship Of Fools
  8. Land Ho!
  9. The Spy
  10. Queen Of The Highway
  11. Indian Summer
  12. Maggie M’Gill *


*previously unreleased