Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

william basinski


temporary residence ltd

limited indies only pearlescent bronze 2lp

Released: 22nd Jan 2021



Released: 13th Nov 2020


out of stock


Released: 22nd Jan 2021


Captured and constructed from tape loops and studies from Basinski’s archives – dating back to 1979 – ‘Lamentations’ is over forty years of mournful sighs meticulously crafted into songs; absolutely stunning.

They are shaped by the inevitable passage of time and the indisputable collapsing of space – and their collective resonance is infinite and eternal. William Basinski’s reputation as the foremost producer of profound meditations on death and decay has long been established, but on ‘Lamentations’, he transforms operatic tragedy into abyssal beauty. More than any other work since ‘The Disintegration Loops’, there is an ominous grief throughout the album, and that sense of loss lingers like an emotional vapor.




  1. For Whom the Bell Tolls
  2. The Wheel of Fortune
  3. Paradise Lost
  4. Tear Vial
  5. O, My Daughter, O, My Sorrow
  6. Passio
  7. Punch and Judy
  8. Silent Spring
  9. Transfiguration
  10. All These Too, I, I Love
  11. Please, This Shit Has Got To Stop
  12. Fin