Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

josephine foster

no harm done

fire records


Released: 20th Nov 2020


lp + download

Released: 20th Nov 2020


a spacious and enveloping love letter of an album, foster’s Eight slow-burners branch forth from idiosyncratic country folk blues, sung with sibylline wit and a hint of the absurd, awash in sensually anachronic lyricism.

Revolving between her adopted Spain and her native American West, Josephine was stationed in Nashville with maverick guitarist and comrade-in-arms Matthew Schneider. Josephine's enigmatic voice captured once more by frequent co-producer Andrija Tokic in his analogue Bomb Shelter studio, where layers of her guitar, piano, organ entwine with Schneider's 12-string, pedal steel and electric bass to rouse a spectral yet full blooded band. The ensuing cycle of songs pulse and glow within the ruins and deep fundamental roots of American song. A must for fans of joan shelley, laura baird and sall anne morgan. “Remarkable, ghostly music” The Guardian.


no harm done


  1. Freemason Drag
  2. The Wheel of Fortune
  3. Conjugal Bliss
  4. Love Letter
  5. Sure Am Devilish
  6. Leonine
  7. How Come, Honeycomb?
  8. Old Saw