Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Brigid Mae Power

Head Above The Water (2021 reissue)

fire records

love record stores edition - limited indies only gold lp

Released: 29th Jan 2021


Brigid Mae Power paints expansive songs that are effortless, hypnotic and folk-oriented like Judee Sill, Bill Callahan and Sharon Van Etten.

The third album from the celebrated singer/songwriter, ‘Head Above The Water’ is a coming of age opus featuring a ground-breaking amalgamation of traditional folk and country - an engaging blend of strings, bouzouki, piano and Power’s distinctive vocal make this an achingly beautiful body of work. Recorded in analogue studio The Green Door in Glasgow with Alasdair Roberts co-producing alongside Brigid and Peter Broderick. It’s a continuing tale of everyday survival; more diverse, different, a bigger canvas, with broader brushstrokes… Country and traditional folk rub shoulders, making for a juxtaposition of threads, with added instrumentation from five musicians lured into the studio to provide larger dynamics. ‘Head Above The Water’ continues in that vein becoming more ethereal, more personal and even more alluring. After two lauded albums for Tompkins Square, Brigid Mae Power released her new album on 5th June via Fire Records. Now available on Ltd Edition GOLD vinyl. “Power meditates on the dichotomy that’s always existed in her work, melding atmospheric bliss and stark desperation.” Pitchfork “Power invokes the elements, either in contrast to internal weather or in sympathy with it.” The Guardian. “Haunting and haunted” (The Line Of Best Fit), “Stunning” ★★★★ Pitchfork “A triumph” ★★★★½ Uncut “Remarkable" ★★★★ Mojo “Extraordinary” Sunday Times “Ethereal” The Guardian “Power at her finest” ★★★★ The Line Of Best Fit “Enthralling” The Metro ★★★★ Financial Times ★★★★★ Hi Fi Choice ★★★★ The Guardian ★★★★ Irish Times ★★★★ Record Collector ★★★★ Music OMH

Head Above The Water (2021 reissue)


  1. On A City Night
  2. Wearing Red That Eve
  3. Wedding Of A Friend
  4. Not Yours To Own
  5. I Was Named After You
  6. We Weren't Sure
  7. You Have A Quiet Power
  8. I Had To Keep My Circle Small
  9. The Blacksmith
  10. Head Above The Water