Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Straight Ahead (2021 reissue)



Released: 29th Jan 2021


Abbey Lincoln, often remembered for her seminal work with Max Roach, was a powerful performer and indeed one of the greatest Jazz voices of all time.

"Straight Ahead" stands as one her best albums. Lincoln is matched here by a ultra-stellar line up including Jazz masters such as Booker Little — trumpet, Julian Priester — trombone Eric Dolphy — alto saxophone, bass clarinet, flute, Walter Benton and Coleman Hawkins — tenor saxophone, Mal Waldron — piano, Art Davis — bass, Max Roach — drums, Roger Sanders and Robert Whitley — congas. "Straight Ahead" is the perfect combination between Lincoln 's strong "Afro-Blue" tone singing, conscious lyrics and angular modern Jazz arrangements. Recorded in New York in a one-off studio session held on February 22, 1961 and released by Candid Records in the same year, the album includes highlights such as Oscar Brown jr's "When Malindy Sings", Thelonious Monk's "Blue Monk", Billie Holiday and Mal Waldron's "Left Alone" and "African Lady" a Randy Weston composition based on lyrics by the great writer Langston Hughes

Straight Ahead (2021 reissue)


  1. Straight Ahead
  2. When Malindy Sings
  3. In The Red
  4. Blue Monk
  5. Left Alone
  6. African Lady
  7. Retribution