Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Art in the Age of Automation (2021 reissue)


very limited transparent blue & green 2lp

Released: 26th Feb 2021


out of stock

Mercury Prize-nominated Portico Quartet has always been an impossible band to pin down.

Sending out echoes of jazz, electronica, ambient music and minimalism, the group created their own singular, cinematic sound over the course of three studio albums, from their 2007 breakthrough 'Knee-Deep in the North Sea', and 2010 John Leckie produced 'Isla', to the self titled record 'Portico Quartet' in 2012. Now rebooted as Portico Quartet after a brief spell as the three-piece Portico, the group are set to release their fourth studio album Art In The Age Of Automation this August on Manchester's forward thinking indy jazz and electronica label Gondwana Records. It's an eagerly anticipated return, with the band teasing both a return to their mesmeric signature sound and fresh new sonic departures in their new music. Featuring the singles Endless and A Luminous Beam.

Art in the Age of Automation (2021 reissue)


  1. Endless
  2. Objects to Place in a Tomb
  3. RGB
  4. Art in the Age of Automation
  5. S/2000S5
  6. A Luminous Beam
  7. Beyond Dialogue
  8. Rushing
  9. Current History
  10. Mercury Eyes
  11. Lines Glow