Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


TAWK TOMAHAWK (2021 reissue)

music on vinyl

limited & numbered (1500 only) 180g yellow lp

Released: 19th Mar 2021


out of stock

Australian jazz-funk band Hiatus Kaiyote released their debut album Tawk Tomahawk independently in April 2012.

It resulted in public endorsements by famous artists like Erykah Badu, Questlove, Prince, Animal Collective and Dirty Projectors. Hiatus Kaiyote were subsequently named the Breakthrough Artist of the Year by Gilles Peterson at the Worldwide Music Awards, and soon the band got signed to Sony Music’s new sublabel Flying Buddha, where Tawk Tomahawk was licensed to as the label’s first-ever release in 2013. A newly updated version of “Nakamarra” was nominated for a Grammy Award for Best R&B Performance, and the song “The World It Softly Lulls” was later sampled by Beyoncé and Jay-Z on their 2018 song “713”.

TAWK TOMAHAWK (2021 reissue)


  1. Mobius Streak
  2. The World It Softly Lulls
  3. Leap Frog
  4. Malika
  5. Ocelot
  6. Boom Child
  7. Lace Skull
  8. Rainbow Rhodes
  9. Sphinx Gate
  10. Nakamarra