Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Mad Not Mad (2022 reissue)


180g lp

Released: 24th Jun 2022


Mad Not Mad is the sixth studio album by Madness.

Originally released in September 1985, it marked a departure from the band’s original line-up, with keyboard player Mike Barson taking a break from the group after an astonishingly successful run of five hit albums in as many years. Style-wise Mad Not Mad presented a more polished side of Madness and contains some of their most sophisticated and political song-writing. The first single, ‘Yesterday’s Men’ finds the band in a smooth, reflective mood, dealing with the dispossessed characters in and around Camden Town, and ’Sweetest Girl’ is a cover of the iconic Scritti Politti track, while ‘Uncle Sam’ is a classic Madness romp relayed through the narrative of a soldier’s experiences during World War II. Within a few weeks of its initial release, NME listed ‘Mad Not Mad’ at number 55 on their list of the “100 Best Albums Of All Time” and it remains in its 2015 list of the “50 Best Albums Released in 1985”.

Mad Not Mad (2022 reissue)

  1. I'll Compete
  2. Yesterday’s Men
  3. Uncle Sam
  4. White Heat
  5. Mad Not Mad
  6. Sweetest Girl
  7. Burning The Boats
  8. Tears You Can't Hide
  9. Time
  10. Coldest Day