Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Lewis McLaughlin

Feel The Ground You Walk Upon


lp + a5 riso print

Released: 29th Jul 2022


20-year-old Scottish singer-songwriter Lewis Mclaughlin’s life-affirming debut album, ‘Feel The Ground You Walk Upon’.

The son of a once prolific folk duo, McLaughlin connects the community spirit, and trad music of that period with the music of his era, specifically the electro-indie of Sylvan Esso and Animal Collective, to create a new, wholly inimitable sound that’s entirely his own. McLaughlin philosophises that life’s experiences and feelings come and go, and that their impermanence means you should take each, whether that’s love, euphoria, anxiety or misery, at face value. Elsewhere, he explores the complex feelings that emerge from first loves and leaving home for the first time as well as life’s more simple pleasures like brassnecking into Edinburgh’s pubs whilst underage and the gift of a sunny day spent with pals. A life-affirming listen, ‘Feel The Ground You Walk Upon’ in one moment will have you misty-eyed, wishing you could hold a pint aloft with your dearest pals and in the next, have you contemplating your most intense personal struggles. All the while Mclaughlin’s warm timbre blazes perpetually, unifying and comforting the lost souls that gather in its glow.

Feel The Ground You Walk Upon


  1. Lewis McLaughlin, Matt Carmichael - Overture
  2. You Tell Me
  3. Hollows
  4. .wav
  5. Whole
  6. Summer
  7. Wolf in the Woods
  8. Still Looking
  9. Go With the Flow
  10. Lewis McLaughlin, Beth Malcolm - Moonshine