Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Joan Shelley

The Spur

No Quarter

Indie Exclusive Clear LP

Released: 24th Jun 2022



Released: 24th Jun 2022



Released: 24th Jun 2022


This twelve song set is a profound meditation on light and darkness, run through with a heaving heart and lifted with an infectious optimism.

Recorded in the spring of 2021 at Earthwave Farm in the Kentucky countryside, James Elkington served as co-producer (alongside Shelley) and the album features collaborations with Bill Callahan, Meg Baird and the British novelist Max Porter along with Shelley’s musical partner and husband Nathan Salsburg. Shelley says: “The Spur” is the result of a period of opposite extremes: of intellectual hyper-connection and physical isolation. This album will forever be fused with the memory of our marriage, the birth of our child, and the intense joy despite the darkness”. "The Kentucky singer-songwriter has come to fully master a sense of radiant calm." - NPR Music "Her poetic imagery is dazzling" - The Guardian

The Spur

  1. Forever Blues
  2. The Spur
  3. Home
  4. Amberlit Morning
  5. Like The Thunder
  6. When The Light Is Dying
  7. Breath For The Boy
  8. Fawn
  9. Why Not Liver Here
  10. Bolt
  11. Between Rock & Sky
  12. Completely