Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Jerry Reed

THE ROCKIN' U.S. MALE (2022 reissue)

bear family

limited 10" + bonus CD

Released: 10th Jun 2022


The vinyl album features his great rockers, covered by Elvis Presley and Gene Vincent, among others, and ‐ especially on the bonus CD ‐ a number of obscure yet terrific recordings.

Jerry Reed was multitalented and highly original. He is still remembered for his charming role as Cledus Snow in the ‘Smokey and the Bandit’ movies with his buddy Burt Reynolds. However, others still cherish Reed as the outstanding songwriter and innovative guitar picker he also was. If you don’t know Jerry Reed, you definitely will have heard his songs: JERRY REED THE ROCKIN’ U.S. MALE RELEASE DATE: 10 th June 2022 LABEL: BEAR FAMILY CAT NUMBER: BAF14024 FORMAT: 10” VINYL LP + CD, BOOKLET PRICE: £ 19.99 GENRE: ROCK ‘N’ ROLL BARCODE: 4000127140241 Guitar Man and U.S. Male be Elvis Presley, Crazy Legs by Gene Vincent and his Blue Caps, Lord Mr. Ford by Matchbox, That’s All You Got to Do by Brenda Lee, When I Found You by Big Sandy and his Fly‐Right‐Boys, and – last but not least – his outstanding East Bound and Down from the first Smokey movie. Jerry Reed Hubbard was born in Atlanta, Georgia, on March 20, 1937. He started his outstanding entertainment career with the help of legendary producer Bill Lowery who secured him a three‐year deal with Capitol in 1955. On ‘The Rockin’ U.S. Male’ several of Reed’s up‐tempo favorites are gathered for the first time. The time‐spanning compilation presents Reed favorites as U.S. Male, When I Found You, and You Make It, They Take It with rarer stuff like Twist‐a‐Roo and the anachronistic exotica classic Rockin’ in Bagdad. For the first time – and for the first time on vinyl – Reed’s rockin’ ravers from Capitol, NRC, Columbia, and RCA are presented on a combination platter. It’s hot – and it will go fast! As a special treat, Bear Family Records® dishes in an extra CD with all vinyl tracks, augmented by thirteen extra smokey Reed speeders – amongst them Jerry Reed’s collaboration with Ric Cartey and his dreadnought picking for The Rockateers.

THE ROCKIN' U.S. MALE (2022 reissue)


  1. When I Found You ‐ Jerry Reed
  2. Guitar Man ‐ Jerry Reed
  3. You Make It, They Take It ‐ Jerry Reed
  4. Bessie Baby ‐ Jerry Reed
  5. Heart Appeal ‐ Jerry Reed
  6. Twist‐A‐Roo ‐ Jerry Reed
  7. I've Had Enough ‐ Jerry Reed
  8. U.S. Male ‐ Jerry Reed
  9. Hit And Run ‐ Jerry Reed
  10. Have Blues, Will Travel ‐ Jerry Reed
  11. Rockin' In Bagdad ‐ Jerry Reed
  12. In My Own Backyard ‐ Jerry Reed
  13. Oh! Lonely Heart ‐ Jerry Reed
  14. This Great Big Empty Room ‐ Jerry Reed
  15. Little Lovin' Liza ‐ Jerry Reed
  16. Teardrop Street ‐ Jerry Reed
  17. Your Money Makes You Purty ‐ Jerry Reed
  18. Pity The Fool ‐ Jerry Reed
  19. I Can't Find The Words ‐ Jerry Reed
  20. Hully Gully Guitar ‐ Jerry Reed
  21. This Can't be Happening To Me ‐ Jerry Reed
  22. Rock Bottom ‐part I ‐ The Rockateers
  23. Rock Bottom ‐part II ‐ The Rockateers
  24. Heart Throb ‐ Ric Cartey
  25. I Wancha To Know ‐ Ric Cartey