Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Words & Music, May 1965

light in the attic

limited uk indies only pink lp (1000 only) - 1 per customer (pre-order)

Expected Release: 21st Oct 2022


limited deluxe edition foil numbered 180g 2lp + 7" + cd in die cut sleeve + die cut 28page saddle stitched book - 1 per customer (pre-order)

Expected Release: 21st Oct 2022


lp (pre-order)

Expected Release: 21st Oct 2022


limited 1st pressing cd in die cut sleeve (pre-order)

Expected Release: 21st Oct 2022


limited indies only cassette (pre-order)

Expected Release: 21st Oct 2022


Released in tandem with the late artist’s 80th birthday celebrations, the album offers an extraordinary, unvarnished, and plainly poignant insight into one of America’s true poet-songwriters.

Capturing Reed in his formative years, this previously unreleased collection of songs—penned by a young Lou Reed, recorded to tape with the help of future bandmate John Cale, and mailed to himself as a “poor man’s copyright”—remained sealed in its original envelope and unopened for nearly 50 years. Its contents embody some of the most vital, groundbreaking contributions to American popular music committed to tape in the 20th century. Through examination of these songs rooted firmly in the folk tradition, we see clearly Lou’s lasting influence on the development of modern American music – from punk to art-rock and everything in between. A true time capsule, these recordings not only memorialize the nascent sparks of what would become the seeds of the incredibly influential Velvet Underground; they also cement Reed as a true observer with an innate talent for synthesizing and distilling the world around him into pure sonic poetry.

Words & Music, May 1965

  1. I'm Waiting for the Man - May 1965 Demo
  2. Men of Good Fortune - May 1965 Demo
  3. Heroin - May 1965 Demo
  4. Too Late - May 1965 Demo
  5. Buttercup Song - May 1965 Demo
  6. Walk Alone - May 1965 Demo
  7. Buzz Buzz Buzz - May 1965 Demo
  8. Pale Blue Eyes - May 1965 Demo
  9. Stockpile - May 1965 Demo
  10. Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams - May 1965 Demo
  11. I'm Waiting for the Man - May 1965 Alternate Version (CD/Cassette Only)
  12. Gee Whiz - 1958 Rehearsal (CD/Cassette Only)
  13. Baby
  14. Let Me Follow You Down - 1963/64 Home Recording (CD/Cassette Only)
  15. Michael
  16. Row The Boat Ashore - 1963/64 Home Recording (CD/Cassette Only)
  17. Don't Think Twice
  18. It's All Right (Partial) - 1963/64 Home Recording (CD/Cassette Only)
  19. W & X
  20. Y
  21. Z Blues - 1963/64 Home Recording (CD/Cassette Only)
  22. Lou's 12-Bar Instrumental - 1963/64 Home Recording (CD/Cassette Only)