Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

josephine foster

There are Eyes Above (first time on vinyl)

fire records

limited black 10" w/ new artwork + download

Released: 28th Oct 2022


This super rare collection, originally only released on CDR and sold at shows, remains an essential part of the curious oeuvre of this unique songwriter and singer.

Josephine Foster's peculiar 2000 home recorded debut There Are Eyes Above is an essential introduction to her music that’s unfolded now for over two decades. Released for the first time on vinyl, this limited edition 10-inch pressing comes packaged with brand new artwork and is adorned by one of Josephine’s illustrations. Lo-fi and unaffected by tradition or commercialism these initial recordings are sepia-tinted, folk-art music with powered by uke minimalism; it’s outsider music that still doesn't fit in. Just 30-minutes caught in time before her 2001 follow up Little Life - this humble first incarnation includes here for posterity super personal lullabies and a glimpse into her songwriting evolution. It’s music from an era that only exists in your mind, with a bow to Tin Pan Alley for good measure. “A dissonant soprano and lyrics about benevolence and old-time faith, Foster expertly weaves ancient and modern” The Guardian.

There are Eyes Above (first time on vinyl)

  1. One Hundred Songs I Sing
  2. Emily Told Me
  3. Teeter Totter
  4. Little Life
  5. I Am A Guest In Here
  6. Robber Song
  7. Hey Matthew
  8. There Are Eyes Above
  9. Godcake
  10. Yippee I'm Leaving
  11. Two Not One