Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Crime & the City Solution

Paradise Discotheque (2023 reissue)


very limited transparent orange lp

Released: 27th Jan 2023


Crime’s freedom of expression and adventurousness reached an apex on 1990’s Paradise Discotheque and its epic Last Dictator saga, which spanned four songs laid out like chapters at the album’s conclusion.

The album and the variety of styles used on it, from the metallic sounds of ‘I Have The Gun’ to the magic realism of ‘The Last Dictator’ quartet, were influenced by Bonney and Adams' move to Vienna. A band out of time, Crime and the City Solution were perennial outsiders who could not rest in their native Australia, and instead found inspiration in the colder climes of London and Berlin. Their mesmeric, expressive music evolved through many incarnations and a great deal of adversity. The first incarnation of the band appeared in 1977/78, in the midst of Australia’s nascent punk scene and re-grouped in London in 1984. The later line-up of singer Simon Bonney, Einstürzende Neubauten’s guitarist Alexander Hacke, DAF’s synth player Chrislo Haas, jazz bassist Thomas Stern, violinist Bronwyn Adams and Bad Seed’s Mick Harvey on drums recorded 3 studio albums in quick succession. 

Paradise Discotheque (2023 reissue)

  1. I Have The Gun
  2. The Sly Persuaders
  3. The Dolphins And The Sharks
  4. The Sun Before The Darkness
  5. Motherless Child
  6. The Last Dictator 1
  7. The Last Dictator 2
  8. The Last Dictator 3
  9. The Last Dictator 4