other titles...

Happiness (20th Anniversary Edition)
  1. Melodica & Trombone (6:02)
  2. Drum Machines & Glockenspiel (13:18)
  3. Cut Up Piano & Xylophone (2:35)
  4. Tone Guitar & Drum Noise (4:46)
  5. Five Four Child Voice (9:22)
  6. Sample & Clicks (2:56)
  7. Drums Bass Sonics & Edits (7:27)
  8. Harmonics (4:00)
  9. Long Singing (9:13)
  10. Five Combs (Bonus Track) (9:45)


Happiness (20th Anniversary Edition)

temporary residence ltd
  • very limited audiophile black 2lp in tip-on gatefold sleeve

    Released: 26th May 2023

  • cd (pre-order)

    Expected Release: 26th May 2023


Restored and remastered by founding member of Fridge, Kieran Hebden (aka Four Tet), 'Happiness' was a sprawling, pastoral masterpiece – an innovative mix of acoustic clatter, electronic exploration, hip-hop production techniques, and experimental rock arrangements.

Along with Hebden’s blossoming solo project, Four Tet, Happiness dragged the most compelling elements of the typically self-serious electronic, indie, and avant-rock of the 1990s and married them to eclectic folk and spiritual jazz for the new century. More remarkably, they did it without an ounce of pretense, imbued with an earnest and intimate execution that stood in stark contrast to virtually every comparable album of its time. this is the 20th anniversary reissue of Fridge’s career-defining gem. Meticulously restored, reconstructed, and remastered from the original master tapes by Kieran Hebden, the album’s sound quality honors the original recordings like never before.