Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Invention & The Quiet Party (black Friday 2017)

Magical Properties

Blue 2lp (1 per customer)

Released: 24th Nov 2017


Like his mythological namesake, Daedelus – otherwise known as Alfred Darlington – is an inventor, a creator of sonic labyrinths combining sounds from an eclectic palette into an innovative genre all his own.

To celebrate its 15th anniversary, Daedelus is repackaging his seminal debut Invention in a 2XLP package with the complimentary EP The Quiet Party (including appearances from Madlib, Yesterday’s New Quintet and Busdriver) in a color vinyl masterpiece. Containing the track Experience, known in part as a sample in Madvillain’s accordion, Invention is a genrespanning opus that marks the start of what has become an illustrious career. As Pitchfork writes, “Daedelus’ debut album manages to find common ground between 21st century electronics and the string arrangements of yesteryear. He never obscures one with the other, nor allows one to shine through at the other’s expense. The disparate elements are in harmony and at the command of Daedelus’ personality.”

Invention & The Quiet Party (black Friday 2017)


  1. Playing Parties
  2. Pursed Lips Reply
  3. Astroboy
  4. Adventress
  5. Elegy (At Last)
  6. Muggle Born
  7. Aplomb
  8. Experience
  9. Loded
  10. Quiet Now
  11. Minor Detour
  12. Perchance A Bit
  13. Soulful Of Child
  14. Thus The Whirligig
  15. Quiet Now (with Busdriver)
  16. Pursed Lips Reply (with Sach)
  17. Playing Parties (YNQ – The Stars Remix)
  18. Madlib Bonus Beats
  19. Muggle Born (High Priest ESP Remix)
  20. Girls (feat. Abstract Rude and Busdriver)
  21. Girls (Instrumental)
  22. A Touch Of Spring