Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Mr Bongo Record Club Volume 2

mr bongo


Released: 27th Oct 2017



Released: 27th Oct 2017


mr bongo selects some lovely, obscure, international treats for our little ears to delight over.

‘Volume Two’ picks up where lauren laverne’s stint left off with a touch more soul and disco in the mix. Mr Bongo is a record shop in the centre of Brighton that opened late in 2016 - 13 years after the mighty London store closed its door. Compiled by David ‘Mr Bongo’ Buttle and Gareth Stephens, plus a few personal favourites from Gary Johnson, Ville Marttila and Graham Luckhurst.

Mr Bongo Record Club Volume 2


  1. Luiz Henrique - Mas Que Nada
  2. Elbernita ‘Twinkie’ Clark - Awake O Zion
  3. Guy Cuevas - Ebony Game
  4. Kiru Stars (Julius Kang’ethe) - Family Planning
  5. Kelenkye Band - Jungle Music
  6. Effi Duke & The Love Family - The Time Is Come
  7. Anubis - Ecology
  8. Dee Edwards - Put Your Love On The Line
  9. Teaspoon & The Waves - Oh Yeh Soweto
  10. Oby Onyioha - Enjoy Your Life
  11. Leny Andrade - Na_o Adianta
  12. Rosa Maria - Samba Maneiro
  13. Tom & Dito - Obrigado Corcovado
  14. Inezita Barroso - Maracatu Elegante
  15. Joao Diaz - Capoeira
  16. Elias Rahbani And His Orchestra - Liza... Liza
  17. The Beaters - Harari
  18. The Equatics - Merry Go Round