Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Stephan Meidell




Released: 29th Sep 2017


Techno meets baroque on the cult Norwegian guitarist’s second Hubro solo album - an immersive sonic journey incorporating electronic beats, treated tape & synthesiser with a re-edited live ensemble including Hardanger fiddle, baroque violin, prepared piano, harpsichord & clarinet.

What Meidell has achieved here is extraordinary, signalling the arrival of a major European voice in a musical area that as yet has no real name. Indeed, you can argue that ‘Metrics’ presents a new form of electro-acoustic art somewhere between sound & music, & between improvisation & composition, that defies all the usual categories, whether post-jazz, post-rock or post-anything. & while Meidell is, among other things, a guitarist by trade, this doesn’t sound like a guitarist’s album, although there are lots of strings on it. fans of colin Stetson, volcano the bear, & john zorn should check this out.




  1. Baroque I
  2. Baroque II
  3. State I
  4. State II
  5. State III
  6. Biotop
  7. Tauchgang