Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


edge of the sun



Released: 13th Apr 2015



Released: 13th Apr 2015

out of stock

180g lp + dl

Released: 13th Apr 2015


ltd 2lp 180g with 6 bonus tracks with etching on b-side - BLUE / TURQUOISE VINYL + d/l

Released: 13th Apr 2015


New location, new guests, same atmospheric desert-rock.

For their ninth studio album, the much-loved Mexi-indie romantics decamped to Mexico City to write, returned to Tuscon to record, and then brought in some talented friends to finish their most collaborative album yet. Neko Case, Sam Beam (Iron & Wine) and Ben Bridwell (Band Of Horses ) are among the visitors to this typically shimmering, melancholy, Calexico place where Cormac McCarthy meets Mariachi El Bronx and gets maudlin on mescal. Nevertheless, there’s a playful quality this time around, reaching a peak on the spaghetti-reggae of “moon never Rises” in which Burns and Convertino appear to have channelled their inner specials. “their poppiest set yet… Calexico are best when drawing old and new worlds together.” Mojo 7/10

edge of the sun


  1. Falling From The Sky with Ben Bridwell (Band of Horses)
  2. Bullets & Rocks with Sam Beam (Iron & Wine)
  3. When The Angels Played with Pieta Brown & Greg Leisz
  4. Tapping On The Line with Neko Case
  5. Cumbia de Donde with Amparo Sanchez
  6. Miles from the Sea with Gaby Moreno
  7. Coyoacán
  8. Beneath The City Of Dreams with Gaby Moreno
  9. Woodshed Waltz with Greg Leisz
  10. Moon Never Rises with Carla Morrison
  11. World Undone with Takim
  12. Follow The River with Nick Urata (Devotchka)

    BONUS CD / LP tracklisting :
    1. Calavera
    2. Roll Tango
    3. Rosco y Pancetta
    4. Volviendo
    5. Esperanza
    6. Let it slip away