Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

japanese breakfast

Soft Sounds From Another Planet

Secretly Canadian


Released: 14th Jul 2017


lp + download

Released: 14th Jul 2017


indies only red lp + download (pre-order)

Expected Release: 14th Jul 2017


it’s a record of such staggering diversity, yet her distinctly dreamy voice & immaculate ear for melody unifies it all to bring forward momentum to a musically complex & intriguing album.

Zauner explores a sonic landscape of her own design that sets out to express her wide range of influences. the record recalls the pathos of Roy Orbison’s ballads, while at other moments, it could soundtrack a cinematic drive down one of ‘Blade Runner’s endless skyways. Zauner’s voice is capacious; one moment she’s serenading the past, the next she’s robotically narrating a love story over sleek monochrome, her lyrics more pointed and personal than ever before. this visionary sophomore launches the project to new heights. “the intense [sequel] is a fully-rounded affair, steeped in synth and oscillating between mbv-style mood pieces [and] fresher indie-pop.


Soft Sounds From Another Planet


  1. Diving Woman
  2. Road Head
  3. Machinist
  4. Planetary Ambience
  5. Soft Sounds From Another Planet
  6. Boyish
  7. 12 Steps
  8. Jimmy Fallon Big
  9. Body Is A Blade
  10. Till Death
  11. This House
  12. Here Come The Tubular Bells