Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


The Pirate's Gospel (Deluxe Edition)



Released: 9th Nov 2018


180g 2LP

Released: 9th Nov 2018


The Portland singersongwriter’s debut of inventive campfire folk, sounded like little else back in 2006 & it still feels astoundingly original
today - we’re thrilled to recelebrate this shop fave, now expanded with an extra album’s-worth of material.

Hailing from the deep woods and winding rivers of Northern California Gold Rush town Nevada City, Alela grew up singing songs with her parents (both musicians). During a stay in San Francisco in 2003, she began teaching herself guitar and writing her first songs, blending tense, trance-like arpeggios, with warm, thick vocals and meditative lyrics about family and nature. Written in response to a loss of home and familiarity, The record is a powerful document of personal re-evaluation and renewal set against the backdrop of generations past and future, mothers and fathers, life, death, and birth. If you love the be good tanyas, laura veirs or Rhiannon Giddens, you have to hear this!

The Pirate's Gospel (Deluxe Edition)


  1. Tired Feet
  2. The Rifle
  3. The Pirate’s Gospel
  4. Foreign Tongue
  5. Can You Blame The Sky?
  6. Something’s Gone Awry
  7. Pieces Of String
  8. Clickity Clack
  9. Sister Self
  10. Pigeon Song
  11. Oh! My Mama
  12. Heavy Walls
  13. Gypsy Eyes
  14. Laundromat Lady
  15. Pink Roses
  16. Tired Feet (alternate Take)
  17. Blackberry
  18. Fay Clark
  19. Golden
  20. Mind Yourself
  21. Silent Slam