Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

burning house

walking into a burning house



Released: 23rd Sep 2013


a radical & unprecedented collage of raw funk, relentless hip hop, contagious club music & brash jazz from chief xcel (blackalicious) & vintage keyboard wiz hervé salters.

a bombastic sonic summit, with productions created by beat-maker extraordinaire & one of the founding members of heralded san francisco bay area hip-hop collective quannum projects, chief xcel. switching gears effortlessly between dance-floor scorchers like ‘post party stress disorder’, boom bap hard-hitters like ‘the nightbird’ & a future fresh jazz ballad like ‘frozen conversations’, xcel’s beats & salters’ keys whip up a completely personal take on free & creative modern music.

walking into a burning house


  1. 28 Steps To…
  2. Turn Off the Robot
  3. Post Party Stress Disorder
  4. Tokyo Airport
  5. The Nightbird
  6. Emergency Exit
  7. Frozen Conversations
  8. Copy That
  9. Daydream Mama
  10. Scatterbrain
  11. Whispers in your Headphones
  12. 1988.5
  13. Rhythm in the Machine
  14. Boomerang