Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

kate tempest

The Book of Traps and Lessons


cd + booklet

Released: 14th Jun 2019


deluxe cd + hardback booklet with bespoke finish

Released: 14th Jun 2019


lp + booklet

Released: 14th Jun 2019


*** purchase the album on any format to receive 1x free guestlist space (name on list / no physical ticket) to her in-store reading + signing wednesday 26th june, 6:00pm - all ages welcome ***

Furiously carving a path of her own through this crazy world, the spoken word artist, rapper, poet, novelist & playwright continues to redefine what it means to be a modern wordsmith against some stark & menacing beats. Her 3rd studio album is by no means an easy listen but it's vital, stimulating & compelling. There really is no-one quite like her. Fearless, ascerbic, touching & empathetic, she uncovers the missing link between the Golden Ages of literature & hip hop. Her 3rd studio album was crafted with Rick Rubin (who came to her after hearing her perform her poetry live) & her ridiculously busy producer Dan Carey (Speedy Wunderground) over the course of the past five years, in paralell to her previous masterworks, 2014’s 'Everybody Down' & 2017’s 'Let Them Eat Chaos'. "I won't attempt to describe how deep & talented she is, for I am without the sufficient words. It's like trying to describe the sun to darkness" - Alan Sparhawk (Low).

The Book of Traps and Lessons


  1. Thirsty
  2. Keep Moving Don't Move
  3. Brown Eyed Man
  4. Three Sided Coin
  5. I Trap You
  6. All Humans Too Late
  7. Hold Your Own
  8. Lessons
  9. Firesmoke
  10. Holy Elixir
  11. People's Faces