Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Song For Alpha


cd (pre-order)

Expected Release: 6th Apr 2018


2lp + download (pre-order)

Expected Release: 6th Apr 2018


Five years after his critically acclaimed debut 'Drone Logic', London-based producer Daniel Avery announces his highly anticipated second album 'Song For Alpha'.

In the years since, Avery has helmed a DJ-Kicks mix CD, resided over a monthly radio show for NTS Live, curated an extensive remix compilation and collaborated on a series of side-projects including a recent collaboration with Nine Inch Nails synth specialist Alessandro Cortini; he has toured relentlessly, cementing a reputation as one of the defining techno DJs of the decade. He has also worked studiously on what he wanted to say next as a producer.  With newfound energy and time to develop, Avery’s sonic vocabulary has expanded. Here, the booming sound of the big room is brilliantly countered by the music of the small hours. Where celestial ambient lullabies ‘First Light’ and ‘Days From Now’ sit perfectly next to the mesmeric techno assault of ‘Diminuendo’ and ‘Sensation’; where both ‘Projector’ and ‘Clear’ evoke early rave records, only ones engulfed by waves of beautiful cyclonic distortion. William Basinski, Warp’s Artificial Intelligence, Brian Eno plus his own excursions with Alessandro Cortini all serve as touchstones for a record that sees Avery take his signature psychedelic-electronic sound to new dimensions, a sound that plays to the head as much as the body.

Song For Alpha


  1. First Light
  2. Stereo L
  3. Projector
  4. TBW17
  5. Sensation
  6. citizen // Nowhere
  7. Clear
  8. Diminuendo
  9. Days From Now
  10. Embers
  11. Slow Fade
  12. Glitter
  13. Endnote
  14. Quick Eternity
  15. Think About What You Love (10" bonus track)