Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.





Released: 19th Oct 2018


After remixing Lord Echo’s track “The Sweetest Meditation” for Soundway Records in 2017, New Zealand’s Julien Dyne returns to the label with the full album “Teal”, a synth-heavy sonic palette of future-soul and percussive afro-house.

Cut loud at DJ-friendly 45RPM. Julien Dyne is a multi-instrumentalist with a long and impressive history of collaborative, live and solo musicianship. Best known for his solo work with BBE and having worked with the likes of Theo Parrish, Steve Spacek and Andreya Triana as well as having remixed Marcel Vogel, Ghostwave and Leroy Burgess (alongside Frank Booker) and more - Dyne has also accumulated a number of accolades over the course of a 10-year career including but not exclusive to being hotly tipped by both Moodymann and Gilles Peterson. Dyne’s new project for 2018 is an 11-track LP on Miles Cleret’s extolled Soundway label. Demonstrating a shift in gears and movement toward a more uptempo, Afro-inspired sound “Teal” melds instrumental flair with astute production and a persistent grain of impassioned, effortless soul. Including collaborations with the likes of long term band-mate Ladi6, Fat Freddy’s Drop’s trumpeter Toby Laing, vocalist and Lord Echo collaborator Mara Tk, Australian vocalist Tim Guy plus jazz luminaries Jonathan Crayford and Jon Bell - this is a body of work for the listener and the dancer alike with a mood as fitting for headphones as it is for the floor. For fans of: Lord Echo, Electric Wire Hustle, Fat Freddy’s Drop, Eric Lau, Taylor McFerrin, Karriem Riggins, Moodymann



  1. Design
  2. YouYou
  3. Hours
  4. Like Glue
  5. P.F Mogul
  6. Copernicus
  7. What You Say
  8. Hot Shoe
  9. Steady
  10. Teal
  11. Follow You Round